2021 أغسطس 02

خطوات صغيرة باتجاه صورة كبيرة

ماذا .... لو جعلت الحصول على الخدمات المستدامة أمراً متاحاً من خلال الحلول التي تتيح الاستحواذ (التملّك) التدريجي؟

Factsheet Block Body

عند التعامل مع العملاء في قاعدة الهرم تحديداً، يصطدم الرياديون في أغلب الأحيان بتحدي انخفاض القوة الشرائية وضعف الاستعداد أو القدرة على الاستثمار وحتى إقبال أقل على تجربة الحل الجديد بدلاً من حلول الماضي حتى وإن أثبتت جدارتها (لكنها في الغالب غير صديقة للبيئة تحديداً). ولكن بوجود نموذج عمل يسمح بنسخة تدريجية "مبسّطة" من الاستحواذ، تمكّن المبتكرون من الوصول عبر حلولهم إلى شريحة من  السوق كانت في الماضي تعاني من تدنّي الخدمة. من خلال تطوير خطط الشراء التي تناسب محفظة النقود الرشيقة، يمكن لحلول المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة إلى جانب الحلول الصديقة للبيئة أن تخترق الأسواق حيث أنها تهمّ: فئات العملاء الأقل امتيازاً ولكن الأكثر احتياجاً والذين غالباً ما يتواجدون في المناطق الريفية والتي هي في دائرة الخطر بسبب النتائج الناجمة عن رداءة نظام إدارة المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة.   

تحويل التحدّيات إلى فرص

Factsheet Block Body

يصطدم جزء كبير من سكان العالم بالتحدّي ذاته عادة: الوضع الراهن سيء، التلوّث منتشر ونسب الأمراض آخذة بالارتفاع ولا يبدو المستقبل مشرقاً بالمعنى الدقيق, ومع ذلك، فإن المعرفة بالحلول الراهنة الممكنة ما زالت غير موجودة في أوساط معظم الشرائح في المجتمع؛ وحتى إن وجدت هذه المعرفة، يتردد معظم الأشخاص وبخاصة أولئك ذوو القوة الشرائية المنخفضة في تطبيقها؛ ببساطة هم لا يستطيعون ضخ استثمار كبير مقدّماً في تقنية قد لا يظهر أثرها سوى على المدى المتوسط أو حتى البعيد. كما أن الممارسات في هذه المجتمعات تعود في الغالب إلى عقود خلت وقد انتقلت عبر الأجيال بالوراثة. نشأ العديد من هذه الممارسات – حتى وإن كانت راسخة وقابلة للاستدامة بطبيعتها –عندما لم تكن ندرة الموارد قضية مهمّة كما هي عليه الآن. ينطبق هذا – على سبيل المثال – على طرق الريّ الهادرة للمياه في الزراعة أو مرافق الصرف الصحي غير القادرة على مواكبة النمو السريع في عدد السكان.

يدرك المبتكرون – بدورهم – هذه التحدّيات، ولذلك يترددون في استثمار الموارد للوصول إلى العملاء في قاعدة الهرم. في أغلب الأحيان، هناك تحدّيات تجابه تصميم الحملات التسويقية التي تستهدف شرائح العملاء هذه بنجاح  لأسباب عديدة أهمها غياب الوصول إلى المنصات/البرامج الشائعة الاستخدام والاعتماد على الدعاية الشفاهية. نتيجة لذلك، ينخفض مستوى الانتشار في السوق ويُترك العملاء الواعدون للتصدّي وحدهم للعواقب الناجمة عن ضعف إدارة البيئة.

يترك هذا الوضع شريحة كبيرة من السكان دون الاستفادة منهم كعملاء في الواقع العملي للوصول إلى حلول مستدامة وصديقة للبيئة والتي هي حالياً تعتمد بكثافة على الكلفة في البداية وإن كان يمكن أن تساعد في توفير النقود والموارد على المدى البعيد. لتمكين منشآت المياه والصرف الصحي والنظافة العامة من الاستفادة من هذه الشريحة في السوق، يجب تطوير خطط الشراء التي من شأنها وضع القوة الشرائية المنخفضة على سُلّم الأولويات والتعامل معها على هذا الأساس وتصميم نموذج عمل كامل لامتلاك الحل تدريجياً على مبدأ خطوة-خطوة. يجب أن تكون الخطوات التي تمكّننا من الحصول على المنتج النهائي مقنعة بحد ذاتها بحيث يدرك المشتري القيمة المتحققة له في نهاية المطاف.

الانتقال نحو استراتيجية

Factsheet Block Body

في أغلب الأحيان تكون محاولة بيع شيء كبير إلى عميل ضمن الشريحة المنخفضة في قاعدة الهرم مثل منزل صديق للبيئة أو منشأة صرف صحيّ متطورة محاولة عقيمة إذ بالكاد يتمكن هؤلاء العملاء من تحمّل المبلغ المترتب عل ذلك. قد لا يكون الاستثمار مُجدياً لهم في البداية غير أن هذه الفئة من العملاء تتمتع بجدارة ائتمانية – إلى درجة معيّنة - يتمكّنون بفضلها من سداد القروض المتناهية الصغر (الميكروية). في حقيقة الأمر، هناك مؤسسات إقراضية أو تعاونيّات تلبّي حاجة كل عميل على حده وتقرض مبالغ صغيرة تتراوح بين مائتي إلى ألف دولار تُستخدم – على سبيل المثال – في تصليحات المنزل أو بناء مطبخ جديد. عبر هذه الخطوات الصغيرة المُؤدّية إلى استراتيجية الصورة الكاملة، أنت تدخل في شراكة مع مؤسسة إقراضية تقدّم القروض المتناهية الصغر لعميلك وفقاً لمنطق تنموي متفوق بحيث تتمكن من استغلال تلك المبالغ في أشياء أكثر من مجرّد تصليحات آنية أو عَرَضِية. لضمان تراكم هذه الاستثمارات الصغيرة بمرور الوقت وأن تحقق قيمة مرتفعة ومنتجاً نهائياً متيناً، يجب أن تستند كل خطوة من خطوات التحديث إلى منطق بحد ذاتها والطريقة التي تتبع بها الخطوات الأخرى أو تسبقها. بالنسبة للأثر المتحقق من عملك،  قد تتمكن من تقديم خدمة لعملائك من خلال مُنتَجَكَ النهائي تغيّر بها حياتهم وهي خدمة يكونون بالعادة غير قادرين على الحصول عليها بطريقة أخرى.

لتتمكن من تنفيذ هذه الاستراتيجية بنجاح، عليك أن تبحث عن شريك ممول يقدّم القروض المتناهية الصغر أو الاستثمارات ذات الأثر بحيث يكون هذا الشريك قادراً على فهم واستيعاب خطة الاستثمار الصغيرة هذه والخطوات التي تتبعها. عليك أيضاً أن تتأكد من امتلاكك للخبرة الفنية في الموقع على شكل اختصاصيين أو مستشارين لديهم ما يكفي من المهارات لإنجاز العمل على أرض الواقع تبعاً لمنطق متسلسل. بهذه الطريقة، يمكنك تجنّب الأخطاء التي تحول دون تسلسل خطوات العمل لديك.

عندما يتعلق الأمر بإدارة هذه الاستراتيجية، عليك أن تكون مجهّزا للتعامل مع سلسلة من المهام الصغيرة في الوقت ذاته بدلاً من التعامل مع مهام كبيرة. في الوضع المثالي، يتولى شريكك الممول أمر العقود ويدفع لك كلما أنجزت مرحلة من مراحل العمل. عليك أن تتأكد أيضاً من توفر مجموعة دائمة من المنشآت بحجم كاف لاستدامة عملياتك. هنا، مرة أخرى، من المنطق التشارك مع تعاونية أو مؤسسة على صلة وثيقة بالسوق بحكم وجودها في قاعدة الهرم وبإمكانك توزيع النُظُم الذكية في مختلف المواقع لاستقطاب العملاء.

دراسة حالة (1)

Factsheet Block Body

كاساCASSA  شركة  في غواتيمالا توفر وحدات سكنية ضمن القدرة الشرائية للمواطنين باتباع نظام الخطوة فخطوة مع العملاء في قاعدة الهرم بما في ذلك المنازل الخاصة وأيضاً المدارس والمنشآت وما شابه. عند كتابة هذه الورقة في أيار 2020، كانت الشركة قد أكملت أكثر من 40 شركة إنشائية تدريجياً من هذا القبيل.

عند تنفيذ الأعمال ترتب شركة كاسا احتياجات المالكين حسب الأولوية بالإضافة إلى استخدامها مواد صديقة للبيئة وأساليب بناء مستدامة مما يؤدّي بها إلى إنشاء مبان بحرفية تدوم دون إلحاق الضرر بالبيئة. في أغلب الأحيان، تؤدّي مباني كاسا دوراً مزدوجاً مثل منزل للعائلة ومطعم أو عمل صغير. تشتمل مواد البناء على الإسمنت المسلّح (الكونكريت) والطوب المصنوع من الرماد بالإضافة إلى الخيزران (البامبو) ما يوفّر درجة من المرونة تجعل التوسع ممكناً في المستقبل  حسب احتياجات العائلة والوسائل اللازمة لها. يدمج كل بيت من بيوت كاسا بين جميع عناصر الاستدامة والتي تضاف في مواكبة تطوّر العمل: جمع مياه الأمطار، حُفَر أرضية لجمع المياه وتخزينها، ومضخّة لإعادة التوزيع داخل المنزل، والإنارة باستخدام وسائل الإنارة التي تستهلك طاقة منخفضة، فصل المياه الرمادية (مياه الاستخدامات المنزلية) وإعادة استخدامها في حديقة العائلة بالإضافة إلى نظام معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الجوفية أو ما يُعرف بـ "المياه السوداء". المعنى الذي يُفهم من جميع هذه التدابير أن المالكين يوفرون المال على المدى البعيد إذ لا يتعيّن عليهم الاعتماد على مصادر الخدمات العامة – والتي تكون جودتها في أغلب الأحيان وفي أفضل حالاتها دون المستوى المطلوب.

للتمكن من الحصول على التمويل لمجموعة واسعة النطاق من العملاء المستقبليين، تبرم كاسا شراكات مع مؤسسة محلية للتمويل المتناهي الصغر والتي توفر القروض الضرورية للعملاء.

07 September 2020

Small Steps towards the Big Picture

WHAT IF... You created access to sustainable services through solutions that allow for gradual acquisition?

Factsheet Block Body

Especially when dealing with bottom of the pyramid customers, entrepreneurs are often faced with low purchasing power, little willingness or ability to invest, and even less inclination to give a new solution a try over those that have proven efficient (but often not particularly eco-friendly) in the past. Yet, with a business model that allows for a “toned-down”, gradual version of acquisition, innovators have been able to unlock a previously underserved market segment for their solutions. By developing purchase plans that fit slimmer wallets, WaSH and ecologically friendly solutions are able to penetrate markets where it matters: At the less privileged, but most in-need customer groups, often in rural areas, that are particularly vulnerable to the consequences of bad water, sanitation and hygiene management.  

Turning challenges into opportunities

Factsheet Block Body

A large part of the global population is regularly faced with the same challenge: The status quo is bad, pollution is rampant, disease rates are going up and the future does not exactly look bright. Yet, knowledge about potential existing solutions does not penetrate into most segments of society, and even if it did, most people, especially those with low purchasing power, are hesitant or simply unable to put down a large up-front investment into a technology that may only start showing impact in the mid- to long-term. In addition, practices within these communities often go back decades and have been passed on from generations – while some of those practices are inherently more sustainable, many of them originate from times when resource scarcity was not as much of an issue as it is nowadays. This applies, for example, to wasteful irrigation methods in agriculture, or sanitation facilities that are not able to keep up with rapid population growth.  

Recognising these challenges, innovators, in turn, are reluctant to invest resources into trying to reach out to bottom of the pyramid customers. Successfully designing marketing campaigns targeting these customer segments is often particularly challenging due to lack of access to commonly used platforms and emphasis on word-to-mouth. As a result, market penetration is low and potential customers are left to fend off the consequences of dismal ecological management on their own.  

This leaves a large segment of the population practically untapped as customers for sustainable, eco-friendly solutions that are more cost intensive at the outset but could help saving money and resources in the long run. To open this market segment up for WaSH businesses, purchase plans need to be developed that make accommodating lower purchasing power a priority and design an entire model around a step-by-step acquisition of a solution. The various steps towards the final product, of course, should be convincing enough on their own to make the purchaser see the value in going all the way. 

Moving towards a strategy

Factsheet Block Body

Trying to sell a large item to a lower bottom-of-the-pyramid client, such as an eco-house or advanced sanitation facility, is often a futile undertaking as they would hardly be able to afford it. However, while a large upfront investment may not be feasible for them, to a certain degree, those potential clients are creditworthy and able to repay micro credits – in fact, in many regions of the world there are now tailored credit institutions or cooperatives that give small loans of a couple of hundred or thousand dollars, for example to fix up items in the house or construct a new kitchen. With the Small Steps towards the Bigger Picture Strategy, you partner with a credit institution that gives micro credits to your client which follow a superior level developmental logic so you can turn that money into more than punctual repairs or occasional fixes. In order to ensure that these small investments accumulate over time and lead to a high-value, coherent final product, each step of the upgrade needs to have a logic within itself and the way it follows and precedes the other steps. As for your business’ impact: With the final product, you may be able to offer a life-changing service to a client group that otherwise may never have been able to afford it.  

In order to be able to successfully implement this strategy, you should scout for a financing partner that gives micro credits or impact investments, and that accommodates and understands this step-by-step small investment scheme. You should also ensure that you have the technical expertise on-site in the form of specialists or advisors that are adequately skilled to make the project happen following a sequential logic. That way, you can avoid aspects of the project turning out faulty and incapable of supporting the intended subsequent steps. 

When it comes to managing this strategy, you need to be equipped to handle a cluster of small commissions at the same time, rather than few larger ones. Ideally, your financing partner will handle the contracts and pay you as you move through the project. You also need to make sure that you have a constant pool of projects large enough to sustain your operations. Here, again, it makes sense to partner with a cooperative or institution that is well-connected in the bottom of the pyramid-market and can deploy intelligent systems to recruit clients.   

Case Study 1

Factsheet Block Body

CASSA is a Guatemalan company that provides affordable eco-housing following a step-by-step system to bottom of the pyramid-clients, including private homes but also schools, businesses and the like. At the time of writing in May 2020, the company has completed over 40 of such gradual construction projects. 

When implementing projects, CASSA prioritises the needs of the owners as well as the use of eco-friendly, sustainable materials and building techniques, thus crafting buildings that last and do not harm the environment. Often, CASSA’s buildings take a dual role, such as family home combined with restaurant or small business. Building materials include concrete and cinder blocks but also bamboo, providing a degree of flexibility that can later be expanded upon, in correspondence with the family’s needs and means.  Every CASSA home integrates all elements of sustainability which are added as the project progresses: rainwater capture, water cistern for storage, pump for redistribution inside the house, LED lighting, grey water separation and reutilisation in a family garden, and an underground black water treatment system. All these provisions mean that the owners save money on the long run by not having to rely on public services – which often offer subpar quality at best.  

In order to allow access to financing for a broad range of future customers, CASSA partners with a local micro financing institution that provides the necessary credits to clients.